The GDIB Model

GDIB 2016 Model


What is the GDIB Model? 

According to the 2016 Global Diversity and Inclusion Benchmarks report:

We believe the 14 categories, organized into four groups, cover the important elements
that need to be addressed to create a world-class Diversity & Inclusion initiative.
Each category is divided into five levels, with the benchmarks at Level 5 considered
best practice. Most organizations will need to address all the Foundation and
Bridging Categories. Organizations may be more selective about which of the
Internal and External Categories to address. Addressing all 14 categories is the
most comprehensive and systemic approach.

Foundation Categoriesconsidered to be the foundation to building a D&I Initiative.

Category 1. D&I Vision, Strategy, and Business Case
Category 2. Leadership and Accountability
Category 3. D&I Structure and Implementation 

Internal Categorieshelp to strengthen how the organization operates and how the effectiveness of people is increased.

Category 4. Recruitment, Retention, Development, and Advancement
Category 5. Benefits, Work-Life, and Flexibility
Category 6. Job Design, Classification, and Compensation
Category 7. D&I Training and Education

Bridging Categoriesbridge foundational work with the internal and external focus of D&I in the organization.

Category 8. Assessment, Measurement, and Research
Category 9. D&I Communications
Category 10. Connecting D&I and sustainability

External Categorieshow the organization offers its products and services and interacts with its customers and other stakeholders.

Category 11. Community, Government Relations, and Social Responsibility
Category 12. Products and Services Development
Category 13. Marketing and Customer Service
Category 14. Supplier Diversity

From Global Diversity & Inclusion Benchmarks: Standards for Organizations Around the World © 2016 Julie O’Mara and Alan Richter. Used with permission. All Rights Reserved.